Follow us on  Follow Expats Plaza on Facebook Follow Expats Plaza on Twitter Follow our Expat Blog  
   Home      Living in the UK      General Information


General Information

The United Kingdom is a constitutional monarchy consisting of four countries: England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. London is the capital and the official language is English.

The UK measures approximately 243,610 square kilometres (94,060 sq miles), with England accounting for just over half of the total area. Measured north to south, Great Britain is approximately 1,100 kilometres (700 miles) in length and approximately 500 kilometres (300 miles) wide.

The United Kingdom has a temperate climate, with rainfall all year round. Temperature varies with the seasons. It rarely drops below −10 °C (14.0 °F) or rises above 35 °C (95 °F). Temperatures are normally warmer in the south and cooler in the north. In winter snowfall can occur, however it rarely settles.

The total population of the United Kingdom is approximately 62 million, of which circa 50 million live in England. The five most populated cities are:

1.      London, circa 7,000,000 people

2.      Birmingham, circa 1,000,000 people

3.      Glasgow, circa 600,000 people

4.      Liverpool, circa 500,000 people

5.      Leeds, circa 450,000 people

Ethnic diversity varies significantly across the UK. Approximately 30% of London's population is estimated to be from an ethnic minority, while – on average – approximately 5% of the populations of other areas of the country are estimated to be from ethnic minorities (with peaks of approximately 20% in certain main cities across the countries).

The currency utilised in the country is the British Pound (Gbp).

All the information on Expats Plaza is free to view. If after having reviewed the information on Expats Plaza you believe this has been useful to you, please visit the Support Us page.
This page was last updated on 18/09/2010
Expats Plaza is the website for the Expatriates living in the UK